Wonderlust

By wonderlust

Garbage Brigade

Happy St. Patty's Day!

Ah, St. Patrick's Day has once again rolled around. Every American with an ounce of Irish in them will be out chugging the "traditional" green beer and discussing their "Irishness" with other Irish Americans. The thing that I have always loved about the holiday is that St. Patrick's Day allows everyone to be Irish if just for one day and who doesn't want to be Irish?

Anyway, I'm Irish and am celebrating by wearing my leprechaun socks (on your feet they look exactly like how you would imagine a leprechaun's shoes and socks to look), my shamrock earrings, and of course, the color green.

So, I wanted to do a St. Patty's Day themed blip, but since I'm not frequently any pubs today nor is the clover in bloom, I settled on anything featuring the color green. Now, I admit my blip contains no photographic talent and completely ignores all the rules of great photography, but it was the quirkiness (quiriness is also something I would consider an Irish trait so it goes along with the theme) and humor in the shot that I could not resist. I went outside to fetch my mail and glanced down the street to see a row of green garbage trucks or a garbage brigade as I affectionaly call it - I had never seen this before and why the garbage men all decided to have a pow wow on my street is beyond me - nonetheless I immediately went to get my camera. It might have been a better shot had I not tried to be stealth about it; I just didn't want the garbage men to think I was spying on them (which I was) and taking a picture to turn over to their boss (which I wasn't).

Happy St. Patrick's Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.