Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Oban evening

Should you ever find yourself of a summer evening as the sun sets over the sea and bathes your West Coast holiday heaven in a rosy light wondering what it would be like to visit off-season, wonder no longer. This is the reality. There are a few huddled figures on the wet streets; the rain is a breath away on a biting wind. It is not jolly.

I’m not a fan of Oban. Perhaps you can tell. I’m here for two nights to attend the annual diocesan bash which includes the Synod. I’d rather be at home. Our hotel - I’m with my pal - is what you might expect to feature in a 1950s film set, quaintly, in the highlands. But we’ve had an excellent meal out - can I recommend EeUsk? - and found a corner shop where we bought some chocolate.

Apparently breakfast will be in the bar. Interesting prospect...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.