Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Celebration

I rarely put photos of me on here, but I'm allowing myself one in celebration. This is me and my friend Paddy who did the cover painting and the line art in my new poetry collection; I've been meaning to have her and her husband round for dinner for well over a year and this seemed like a suitable occasion. So here we are, enjoying a glass of champagne before we eat, enjoying the palpable satisfaction of having the book in our hands - not to mention the bubbly...

It was also satisfying to sell six copies at church this morning, and post off the fifth mail order one to a friend in England - someone I've not seen for 9 years at least. No-one expects to make money from poetry, especially not me, but it's the idea that people are actually willing to pay for it and own it - poetry, the art that always seemed to me to be the least popular of them all. 

It's been a good day, and a good ending.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.