About to turn

By jMcLean

Inherited collection

Looking up through the leaves of a houseplant to a painted umbrella my sister brought me from Cambodia. She was there writing a story on UXOs. The umbrella has now hung from our ceiling for a decade. The plant was a rescue - I found it half-dead among garbage cans at a house someone had moved out of, so I heaved the pot into my car. The extra is a begonia I inherited from my friend Clarike up the hill. She died suddenly a couple years ago, and her husband Ed has become almost like family to us.

I stayed indoors much of the day, except when I zipped out to vote and ran the kids to various places. I didn't get much of my own work done, but did get to read in the sun during the afternoon, with the houseplants for company. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.