Sparrowhawks!

This morning I went to Ifton Meadows nature Reserve with the U3A Birdwatching group.  We saw jays and a nuthatch and heard skylarks, a green woodpecker and a great spotted woodpecker drumming.

Skylarks nest on the top of the reserve and there are signs asking people and dogs to stay off the area from 1st March as  every year damage is done to the nests by free running dogs.  There were a couple of people with about 6 dogs (probably dog walkers) all off the lead running over the nesting area. Grrr!

On our way back we saw a sparrowhawk flying along a ditch which was our best sighting of the day.

This afternoon I went to my watercolour class. When I got back home I looked out of the kitchen window and there was this beautiful sparrowhawk on the fence. It only stayed a moment, just in time to take a quick photo through the window. It's definitely  my bird of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.