WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Industrious

I went to a mosaic workshop at Kitty Harri's sculpture garden today. I've long wanted to try doing mosaic and this seemed like as good an opportunity as any. The fruit of my several hours of efforts was a small round table 45 cm across. Will be blipped later. Other students had turned up with quite refined drawings of elaborate designs to trace, while mine was a pencil scrawl on a piece of A4 paper.

I felt a bit like the dunce of the class, a feeling exacerbated when by (Spanish) lunchtime everyone else had pretty much finished gluing, while I had glued less than half of my abstract design of waves and beach and was still fannying about trying to fill in the rest of the jigsaw of broken tiles without too many big gaps. I felt slightly stressed by this, but after lunch Kitty helped with the gluing, so I did have time to hastily grout and polish it by 5 pm. 

Everyone's designs looked really good, even mine in its uneven rustic way, so we were all happy and celebrated with a glass of wine by the pool, somewhat surprisingly greeted by Kitty's husband Nick playing the bagpipes. I was too knackered to go to intercambio, so we spent a quiet evening at home. We christened the table with a bottle and two glasses; it's just the right size. And it was still warm enough to sit on the terrace till 7 pm.

I'd be prepared to have another go at mosaic, but without the time pressure -- you really don't need much equipment or even skill to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.