WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Pensive

After two blipless days of grey, gloomy weather I had to fall back on the default indoor blip subject. He's bored because since our last very expensive vet visit I don't let him out after dark.

We are bored too ... today I decided to continue my research for my blog entry on a neglected cookbook. It's my Slimming World weigh-in day, so if I'm going to eat naughty things it has to be today, after I've weighed myself! (lost 2.5 kg in three weeks, not too shabby).

First up: pineapple and curry soup, served chilled. Very 1970s! It specified a fresh pineapple. S bought one, and it was so juicy and delicious that I was not about to waste it by cooking it in chicken stock and liquidising it. so we ate it and I bought a tin for the soup. Other ingredients: curry powder, mango chutney, courgettes, onions, lemon juice. Served with cream swirled into it. Sheer curiosity meant I had to try it.

Well, S did eat a small bowl of it, so it worked better than my previous effort. It looked like snot though. And the taste was pretty strange, flavours battling each other. I don't think I would serve it to guests. Or indeed to us in future.

More successful were maids of honour: small tartlets of rich pastry with a dollop of quince jelly in the bottom and an almond filling similar to Bakewell tarts. Squidgy in the middle and crisp on the outside, they are delicious, if a bit too sweet and not exactly Slimming World friendly. I definitely would serve these to guests. I will blog them later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.