Covert Ops

Sticking the lens through a hole in a ten foot high cypress hedge meant to keep out intruders and prying eyes from a fishing lake, I was pretty pleased that my surveillance tactics worked. 

The receptionist at the Water Park had said quite categorically that there was no trespassing on the land round the 'Fishing Pit' lake next door and that the very rude landowner had said that, '...the ruddy birders could do a running jump,' apparently; a scenario which meant she was all too eager to help me do what I could. Consequently it would be rude of me not to post the object of my quest - a  male smew. Distant, very distant but none the less a smew! It didn't cooperate long, floated even further then I lost it altogether into the ether. 

I was pleased to see it not just because he is quite a smart little chap but  primarily because he's flown from the wintery northern regions of Russia and Scandinavia. We only get them in small numbers. It has a sawbill and hook on the end of it giving it a good grip for catching fish when it expertly dives although it does eat insects and invertebrates too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.