Photogen

By Photogen

Pre-Union Coat of Arms, Scottish Parliament

Today's photo is located in the 17th century Queensberry House within the Parliament buildings where I was attending a meeting as a member of a lobbying group.The cost of the Parliament, designed by Enric Miralles, the Catalan architect who died before its completion, caused huge controversy but, on this my first visit inside, I was completely captivated, especially by the way light entered deep into the building through various roof windows. It was stunning. Sadly, there was not an opportunity to photograph this aspect today.
However, on leaving the side exit to the Canongate, I spotted, opposite the door, this magnificent coats of arms in the pre-union style of the 17/18th century (designed by Mark Dennis). The design includes the Lion Rampant and two Scottish Unicorns. The Latin motto at the foot, 'Nemo Me Impune Lacessit' translates to "Don't mess with me!" Very Scottish! It's made of fibreglass, painted and gilded, and was gifted by the Heraldic Society of Scotland.
I was delighted the security guard was pleased to pose alongside as he gives a sense of scale, and personalises the picture. I like the way his head lines up with a ring of thistles, giving a coronet effect! It was a straightforward automatic exposure using the widest angle on the zoom with flash on, although spotlights above the coat of arms illuminated the scene also. There was an earlier group photo with the Minister, but I handed the execution of the task to a Parliamentary assistant as I had to be in it, and it will be published elsewhere. I'll provide a link in due course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.