Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Western Conifer Seed Bug

AKA: Stink Bug

This is the first bug I've seen this year so it had to be my blip.  Lucky for me that it was deceased because I read that they spray like skunks.  I'll remember not to get so close to a live one!  Birds and bugs and 72 F today, so I believe spring is finally here!  That isn't saying that we won't have more snow.  The news keeps reminding us that March is our snowiest month....

There are 8 confirmed cases of coronavirus around our state (Colorado) today - up from 2 yesterday.  There are probably hundreds more with symptoms who haven't been tested yet.  There is a shortage of test kits already, so certain criteria need to be met to even qualify for a test.  We're being asked to self quarantine for 2 weeks if we have any sign of illness.  None of this is unexpected but it's just more real now.  

I am grateful that I stocked up earlier in the week so that I won't have to go back to any stores for at least a few weeks.  We're avoiding public places as much as possible so there's lots of time for open air activities like bike rides and dog walks. :-)

I almost forgot to say that I found a great phone app called "Picture Insect".  I took a picture of my computer screen and it instantly identified this bug.

My extra is for YouCanCallMeAl :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.