Still a youngster

I judged the tide a bit better this morning than yesterday, However, there was not a lot of variation in the birds at Southend of Snells Beach. The terns which were diving at speed into the bay were absent this morning. There were rather more Poaka here, and the extra shows a family of five; two are obviously still getting adult plumage.  I also saw a bit of aggressive chasing of a rival by whitefaced herons again. Unfortunately too far away to be able to capture the details. 

This afternoon, while we were having a relaxing chat with S' brother and his wife, I heard a Tui call and went out. After a short period of silence and inactivity, it flew to a branch in my vision, and then made quick darting flights to other branches until it got to the one it is on in the photo. And there it appeared to pose for me to get two photos (the other was out of focus). It then flew away to pohutukawa a couple of neighbours away

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.