Adam's Images

By ajt

Power off

Back blip.

This morning I got a SMS to say that my step father was very poorly. I have been expecting a message like this since I returned. And to be honest told myself that the nursing staff has said there would be good and bad days. While having my lunch I received another SMS to say that my father had just passed away.

Some people would get upset about receiving an SMS, rather than a phone call, but to be honest it's sometimes easier to write something kind and polite rather than try and say it without getting upset. A few hours later the nursing home called to confirm the news, and tell me that apparently dad had left instructions for an ABBA funeral. I know my father took a positive view on life, but I never knew he liked ABBA. Well you live and learn.

Over the past few days, I've taken the scanner out and gone through some of the pictures I have, so today's back blip is the front of the scanner. I've not yet processed all the pictures, in fact only a few, such as yesterday's.


I wish to thank everyone who has been supportive. To be honest there is nothing you can actually do and even if I had lived in the same house as him it wouldn't have made any difference. I've done the best to not torture myself, I know it's easy done, my mother sobbed every day for weeks while her mother was in hospital, so in that respect my step father and I have been lucky, he has had a full and independent life right up to the very end, and as far as I can tell he hasn't suffered a great deal at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.