Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Happy Birthday Arch!

Archie's sixth birthday, so of course he had to wear his 'It's my birthday!' bandana all day. No party or cake today, but we'll celebrate in May, which was when he came into our lives.

I found a wee bag of presents at the front door - Rufus and his mum had dropped them before they went away for the day. We both went to the gym (JR and I, not Archie and I)  though I was still very tired from yesterday's exertions. 

Elizabeth came to collect Archie. What a good birthday present - his favourite day! And she brought him gifts.

They went off for a big walk, and we decided to go for lunch/brunch. Black Ivy was mobbed. So was the Three Birds. But we made the right choice and waited for a table in Project Coffee. They do epic brunches, they're dog friendly, and the music's not too loud.

We both enjoyed our meals - JR had avocado & poached eggs on sourdough, but I had carrot fritters, haloumi, poached eggs and beetroot chutney. Truly epic! (Extra 1)

JR got the bus into town, and I walked very very slowly back home - actual walking is much harder work than on the cross trainer (and it's pretty hard).

Home to watch the rugby, but I was more polite than usual, switching the TV off and recording the game when Elizabeth came. We raised a birthday glass (or two) to Archie, while he opened his presents from Rufus. 

And then he snoozed amongst the debris... (Extra 2)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.