KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Fun Saturday

My landscaper brought me a yard and a half of great garden soil this morning. It's to fill in the holes where he dug out all the plants I didn't want anymore. Tomorrow is supposed to be a reasonably pleasant day...so that will keep me busy! Fortunately they moved it up into the garden so I don't have to move it all from the sidewalk :-)

I spent the afternoon with my co-grandmother and two grandchildren. We went to our favorite local nursery - a marvelous place called Cornell Farms. They have some of the best plant material available through retail in the city. They grow almost all of their own annuals and they guarantee their health. They also have a marvelous cafe!

It was lovely when we arrived. We took the kids to look at the chickens (they have an amazing array) and then to the cafe for hot chocolate. Then we noticed very dark clouds coming towards us, so ran out to pick up some plants we wanted....and of course the skies opened! It poured, and hailed, and rained some more. We put the kids on the rolling nursery carts, covered with umbrellas and dashed for the car. All in all a very fun time! I think we spent a good couple of hours there.

They have an extraordinary magnolia tree - still quite small - and it's not tagged so I don't know the cultivar. But it just glowed against the sky today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.