Obrigado...erm...I mean gracias

In the morning I worked on a proposal document to get it off my plate, as Erlyn prepared tostada and café con leche (toast and coffee: everything sounds better in Spanish).

I settled for my preferred activity in a big, interesting city: pounding the streets for hours even if it brings on sunstroke and blistered feet. I feel like this always puzzles non-Europeans, as Erlyn (Colombian) was trying to motion us towards colectivos (word used for bus transport) at every opportunity.

Walking is draining in the heat, but has its good finds and advantages. The Carlos Thays botanical garden (pictured) is a secluded little gem and the Buenos Aires Eco Parque is a great resource that integrates a leisure space with wildlife and conservation. Capybara, condors, camels and flamingos are all on display. The Rosedal flower garden in the Bosques de Palermo park isn’t in full bloom at this time of year but is still pleasant and colourful. Buenos Aires is crammed full of grand avenues and statues, the like of which most cities can’t match.

A sunset drink in a bar with a view over Recoleta Cemetery was relaxing and enjoyable. Then Erlyn cooked arepas (a sort of patty made of maize flour and stuffed with meat) and I succumbed early to the five-hour time difference with Mozambique.

My reflex response in any shop or restaurant is to say obrigado, before hastily replacing with gracias; thank you in the correct language. My Spanish skills are sliding away at an alarming pace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.