Apple Store

We spent the day with Shelly’s nephew David. We met him at his apartment and had breakfast together before walking to his office for a visit. On the way we passed B&H Photo and I had to go in. I’ve bought many cameras from them but always online. What a place. After visiting David’s office we continued on to the Hudson Yards. We walked through the shop area and saw through the windows The Vessel, a huge eight level staircase with reflective copper levels beneath. Wow! Amazing to look at. We didn’t climb it as the next slot available was several hours away and we would be long gone. I took lots of photos but none with my phone so I can’t use one for my blip.

From there we walked the Highline for a mile or two. I’ve been there before and I liked it as always. Again I took lots of photos. Next we stopped at Starbucks Reserve Roastery and had coffee and a snack. That place looks nothing like the usual Starbucks. It’s large, crowded, and very dramatically decorated.

As we walked from there we passed a multi level Apple store. I had to go in to photograph the glass staircase that takes you up to the second and third floors of the store. As I’m sure you know I’m a big fan of unusual staircases. Not sure I’ll paint this one but I really enjoyed seeing and photographing it.

David had a planned activity next so Shelly and I headed off to Washington Square. We sat in the sun (It was a magnificent clear day) and people-watched. Then we went looking for the subway station to our next stop, a Chinese restaurant where we met David, Lauren and Mia for dinner. It was an adventure finding it. As has been happening so often during our trip, folks stopped and helped us at every turn. Don’t believe the reputation New York has for not being friendly. We’ve had so many encounters with folks asking if we needed help and if we did, gladly giving it to us. It’s a city of friendly and helpful people and we are having a great time here.

Dinner was yummy. We stopped for ice cream and then bid farewell to Shelly’s nephew and family. So glad we could spend time with them! Another wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.