Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Off went the van wiv me 'ome packed in it...

Well, I didn't follow on wiv me old cock linnet, but I did go to the auctioneer's office with the clipboard the men had left behind. It wasn't my home they'd packed but it felt like it!

Sorry to keep going on about my shop but, it's important to me just now. Twelve years ago, when we had another jeweller's shop in town, The Sis-in-Law suggested we got our friend to make us some solid wood cabinets. They were designed and made especially for that shop. They looked great! When, due to retirement, we closed that shop we moved the cabinets 150 yards down the road to our present recently closed shop.

There is so much emotion in this, so much thrill of seeing both shops transformed by the craftsmanship of our friend! I told the men to get going before I cried. I must have watched too many Antique Roadshows. you can see in the cabinet, I have put a copy of the cabinetmaker's drawing for provenance!

I hope someone else enjoys having them!

BTW over the nearly four years I've been here 70% of the folk I subscribed to (I've only unsubscribed to 2) are still blipping this year! Well done, you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.