Memory Lane

I had to pop to the doctors after work to drop off a form. I parked outside my mum and dad’s house and walked round. Rather than walking along the main road way I went round the back way. We spent half our lives playing in these lanes and the fields beyond.
The fields beyond are now Bicester Village!!
The wall to the right of the picture is the wall to the pub garden next door to our house. The Six Bells. Every time I got locked out I had to climb over the wall from their garden into ours. And then up the pergola to the bathroom window which you could generally shimmy open. Happy days!
The old school down the lane - St Edbergs - is closed now, I did a week’s work experience there when I was sixteen which confirmed my unsuitability to be a primary school teacher. The care home they built down Piggy Lane is still there. My brother worked there for his first proper job.
The old St Mary’s school is long gone, replaced by a second doctor’s surgery. I remember school discos there and the first slow dance I ever had......
It was a proper trip down memory lane!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.