The Big Golden Dog

By Cowlieowlie

Daffodils

We got going in good time this morning, as me and my dad were going to visit a church down in the Scottish Borders, and it takes nearly an hour to get there. I have lots of friends (through an extraordinary series of conincidences which would be too long to explain here) who go there, and like to go and see them sometimes. Their church has a youth group / Sunday school that meets during the sermon, which our church doesn't, so it made a nice change to go out of the service and do something different. We learn all about the history of the Bible itself, and Constantine, and the Council of Nicea, and historical copies that have been found of books of the Bible and.... lots of other things! It was quite an intense history lesson, but very interesting.

We afterwards went for lunch with melamny's parents and sister, who make up a part of the aforementioned friends from that church. The flowers were for them. The ribbon was 'recycled' by being returned to me. We had a lovely time. We had duck in hoisin sauce with rice (because she forgot to buy noodles) for lunch, which is a bit of a change from normal - usually at home we are lazy and have bread, cheese, and apple! It was very delicious, but I felt so full afterwards, not being used to having a large meal at lunchtime!

They have a lovely collie dog called Elsa who I made friends with / threw the ball for. She's gorgeous! But not as nice as Pi, of course.

We got home about four. Then I had to cook tea soon after that. So my dad managed two main meals in one day. I ate hardly any tea! It was burritos, which I haven't made before, and didn't have a recipe for. I have eaten them before, though. Although I'm not sure I did it exactly right, it did taste quite like when I had one the other weekend.

Phew! Busy day, busy weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.