Friday Foto

By drmackem

Truth to Power

The miseducation of.....

A Photo
Sonny weary with pondering

A Muse
Whist COVID-19 is saturating the airwaves I’ve been remembering books I’ve read about contagion. One thing that has come to mind is my hero in The Plague by Albert Camus, Monsieur Grand who in his recording, questions and searching for facts is what we need just now.

 
Our current Chief Medical Officer Chris Whitty seems just the man for the moment, in a political landscape that seems weary and at times contemptuous of experts and facts he seems the calm voice in the wilderness. Given that COVID-19 seems to be deaf to political rhetoric, let’s hope our leaders accept the facts, seek more facts and act wisely with respect for truth.
 
Which is all so seductively and self evidently simple and elegant…but that’s too easy isn’t it, what about social isolation and economic disruption, that can kill people too. And then there’s the facts which are fewer in number than the questions yet to be answered, even the scientists don’t always agree. Then there’s fear, there’s always fear, and what about openness and toilet roll and surveillance (a most intriguing triplet!) also should I go see my mum after that consultation with the nice  Iranian gentleman whose hand I couldn’t bring myself to refuse to shake?  Salam alaykum.
 
We do what we can with what we know and what we have and allow others to do the same.

I’m still rooting for Chris Whitty to be our Monsieur Grand.

A Tune
Truth to Power - One Republic

If you could see me the way I see you
If you could feel me the way I feel you
You'd be a believer
You'd be a believer

Minutes turn to hours
Hours turn to years
And I've seen truth turn to power

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.