Lent 2020 day 15

’And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”’ (Matthew 18:3)

Gemma Brown writes:

“When he was born two years ago, along with the cutest little dimples and his daddy’s big blue eyes, my son brought with him two gifts. These stand out to me as I reflect on this passage. Imagination: a stick becomes a hedge cutter, a pineapple is a guitar (and why not?). He spends hours getting lost as he connects with God’s world in new, imaginative ways.

And laughter. My favourite sound in the world is my son’s laugh, as it echoes around the house, instantly warming every one of its corners. Tickles, bowls as hats, a bedtime game of peekaboo… things that cause the sparkle in his eyes to spill over into an explosion of giggles.

The writer Charlie Mackesy says, ‘I wish there was a school of unlearning’. I wish I could unlearn all that has made me not laugh and imagine in the way that all children do.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.