AMANDUS

Another walk in the old cemetery. It started to rain just as I got there and by the time I got home I was soaked. However, I noticed this stone for the first time today. It's in a part which is usually very overgrown for the rest of the year. I translated the inscription which tells me that Sea Captain Amandus Utbult was born in Öckerö, Göteborg and drowned in Hartlepool. I looked up his name and found a family tree on a genealogy webite (not Ancestry) so I've emailed the owner of the family tree - a grandson, I think - to tell him about the stone (the family tree says that Captain Utbult died in Öckerö, if I read it right). Unfortunately, there didn't seem to be a way of sending the image via the website, but I've asked him to contact me direct if he is interested. We'll see.

When Hartlepool was thriving with shipyards and timber yards, as well as fishing and other trade activities there were lots of nationalities living and working here, and some of their graves are in this cemetery, some inscribed in English and others in their own language.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.