OWL TREE

I walked past the owl tree on my way home from an appointment and some shopping in town this morning. A few people seemed to be stocking up (bread and pet food in the trolleys I saw), but most weren't and I only bought a few essentials that I could manage to carry - croissants, raspberries and Maltesers, mainly.

This rotten old tree is full of holes and grows huge bracket fungus on the other side. I saw a pair of treecreepers on it a couple of days ago and a wren a while before that, so I hope they're all making homes in it. In a few weeks the holes and the owl will be almost hidden by foliage until autumn.

(If you heard the Today Programme this morning, Justin Webb was in Hartlepool and kept banging on about the wonderful sunshine. It was, and is, but there's a rough wind out there.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.