Don't look too closely ...

Light rain this evening, but I still plan to head back up to the allotment in the morning. I have some weeding, fruit pruning, to do, but it's been so wet up to now that it would have been pointless trying to get on the plot. I love my allotment, it gives me a lot of pleasure & satisfaction, plus an escape. Once I start gardening I can't stop, I love to get up there early mornings before anyone else arrives. I take a flask of coffee,  then sit looking out across Dartmoor when I take 5. I love growing vegetables, & I like neat tidy beds. It's the Virgo in me. I love my flower garden too. I love plants!
Took Mum shopping this morning, our local Coop has had a makeover/refit. Grand launch tomorrow. Shame the fruit & veg shelves were virtually empty today, & of course a new layout so nothing is where it was before, and many of the items that Mum buys on a regular basis are on the top shelves which she cannot reach. Good job I'm there, although I'm not that much taller than she is. We ticked everything off our list so that was a result. Back to Mum's for coffee & catch up. Fixed her smoke detector. Just as I was leaving I saw Bruce, he's coming up on Friday morning to saw the trees down at the back of the allotment sheds so that will be another job done .. whoop whoop!! I get the trees sawn down, he gets the logs. :- )

My Aygo passed it's MOT with flying colours so that was a relief.

I collected netting etc. to make up a framework to protect my onion & garlic sets. The blackbirds have a field day scratching up the soil around them, and I need the space in the greenhouse to start off some of the flower seed I've harvested from both here & our Turkish trip last year. I also bought another couple of broad bean varieties at the garden centre that I want to get going. I could do with a bigger greenhouse. I really do need to get up on the plot.

Thanks to steveng for hosting Wide Wednesday, & the #favourite activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.