Carolina's journal

By Carolina

PINE STREET

Historical Everett.   This home was built in the winter of 1891 ( which is old for us).  A one and a half story Cottage built for the masses.  It was 994 Sq. Feet and built by the Swalwells, a family that owned much of the Riverside neighborhood back then.  The Swalwells platted out the area as soon as Washington became a state in 1889.  It was designed by the architect F.A . Sexton who pitched a tent in the area in order to offer his services ( it wasn't free) to the buyers rushing in to snap up the newly available land. 
 This home was auctioned off in 2015 and as you can see the current owners have done marvelous things with it.  
   In the extras is my Grandmother's home that was bought around 1912 by my Great Grandfather when he worked in one of the shingle mills just down on the river.  It must have been a fairly short walk to work.   I must say that the two additions on the back were not there originally and somehow or other the owner has turned it into apartments no less!
   thanks for stopping by and any hearts or stars!!!    Much thanks for the hearts and stars of my barnacle rock yesterday!! 
        I am tagging this for Wide Wednesday and thanks to Steven G for hosting!!      Let me know if my tag is wrong!!!     PS.   the last extra is the windy day we had today. 
     I just realized that I had the challenge for next week.  so I will do the second extra for today's challenge! ( Favorite activity)    thanks for steveng for bearing with me!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.