Not my usual view of our village

I usually take my images of our village looking up the hill as I set off on a walk but yesterday I stopped the car on the way home as I wanted a photograph taken on Lionel Hill.  I’ve been doing the desk-top publishing for a village history publication linked to the war memorial.  

Anderby SHEPHERD, serving with KOYLI, died on 20 November 1917 aged 30. He was killed on the first day of the Battle of Cambrai. Like many members of this family he lived in Crane Moor, on Lionel Hill, opposite what was the village school which he would have attended.

The original proposal was that the publication should be produced to accompany the Parish Boundary Walk which is celebrating 20 years and takes places on the first Bank Holiday Monday in May.  


So my first attempt at producing the leaflet was to produce a folded A3 sheet that would fit into a pocket.  Subsequently, it was agreed that it wasn’t feasible for people to follow the Boundary Walk route and look for the places where some of the men who died lived.  So the two have become separate projects.



The two researchers, Ella and Ann, have come up with so much information that there wasn’t much room for photos, but now with the change of plan we are opting for an A3 folded leaflet that will fit into the Parish Council Newsletter, so I’m hoping that this will enable me to break up the `stories’ with some small photos.  Space will be tight, so maybe extra information will need to go onto the website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.