On Golden Pond !

Err not very golden you may say and your correct lol it is in fact Lochan Lain Cheile at the top of Glen Ogle in the Trossachs I headed up there earlier today as I work at 19:39hrs with a drive to Newcastle and travel back as a passenger hopefully catching the last train up the road if not well it's Taxi ! for Youngie so it was a real winter wonderland up here with the Lochan partially iced and snowed over but absolutely beautiful scenery and so tranquil and the snow was half way up my shins so a good 12-14 inches here but down at the bottom less than half of that so weird just with that bit of elevation how much deeper the snow was but the main roads were fine now a Lochan is just the same as a Loch but only a lot smaller no specific size has been agreed to define what is a Loch and what is a Lochan I have posted a few other shots I took today for any Railway aficionados that are on my blipfolio with a snowy shot of the Oban/Callander branch right behind the shot on this picture and a few other shots as well as a shot of the beautifully preserved Lochearnhead Station now run by a Scout Group from Hertfordshire and a shot of what must be the only standing signal still in situ on this line on the outskirts of Callender, The Oban/Callender branch closed in 1965 due to a large landslide at Glen Ogle but instead of closing the whole branch back to Dunblane they should have left it finish at Callender if ever there was a town crying out for the return of the railway it's Callender very similar in size to Pitlochry and a tourist mecca year round such a shame they closed it all, I also put on my folio my alternate shot that I was going to post of the reflections of the snowy mountains on Loch Luibnaig but it was a hard choice and on my way back I stopped at an antique market and bought some railway memorabilia so tomorrows shot will be my new cast iron nameplates of a couple of steam engines that I just purchased so well chuffed chuffed so this is my blip for the day of Lochan Lain Cheile at the top of Glen Ogle in "Deep Winter"2008 best viewed LARGE !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.