The Bruce Heart Stone

Well a couple of years agao I was visiting Melrose Abbey in the Scottish Borders and it is famous for having the Buried Heart of King Robert The Bruce who wanted his Heart Buried in Melrose Abbey after it was taken into battle in the Crusades between the Spanish & The Moors anyway on return it was buried in the Abbey under the Chapter House floor in a Lead casket it was rediscovered years back and put into another Lead casket and finally reburied again with a copy of this stone placed over the grave of his heart and was designed by BBC sound engineer Victoria Oswald and carved by stonemason Hugh Durrant and the The inscription "A Noble Hart May Have Nane Ease Gif Freedom Failye" which translates- "A noble heart cannot be at peace if freedom is lacking" and the stone was commemorated at the Abbey by the late Donald Dewar, anyway I was mentioning to my Brother Alan back then after my visit how neat the stone was with the carved heart intertwined with the Scottish Saltire and I knew one of his mates used to be a stonemason and thought about getting a copy of the stone made unfortunately his mate had moved away anyway unbeknown to me my brother undertook a mission to go down and take measurements and photo's and aquired a block of Scottish Sandstone and toatally took me by surprise in doing it himself with no skills in stone masonary this was the result I was blown away with it when he surprised me with it I kinda got all emotional when he showed me what he had been doing in my mums garage as I had been in there many times and never even thought to look under a heap of rags and blanket on the old workbench as I only go in there if my mum needs the ladders out so I was well chuffed with my gift and if you google images of the Bruce's Heart Stone you will see how good a job my brother done so thanks Alan your the MAN now then an easy movie for the day and it is " The Bruce 1996" Maybe one day I may use this stone to cover the spot above my Heart in a casket and have it buried in a favorite spot in Scotland I like the thought of that anyhow Looks good LARGE as well See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.