A walk on the Hillfort

I had to go into Oswestry to do some shopping today so on the way I had a walk on our 3000 year old Iron Age hillfort (the best preserved in the UK) which is on the edge of town.

Since 2015 we have been fighting plans to build over 100 houses at the bottom of the hillfort thus destroying the archaeology there.  I have taken part in the protests each year, Hillfort Hugs on the fort here and here plus a protest at Shirehall here.

On Monday the news was that the developer had withdrawn the application. The following day our group was informed that a new plan from the same developer was in the pipeline. When I got home today there was a letter from the council informing me of the new plan.  It's so frustrating and unbelievable that the county councillors won't protect such an important historic site. 

My blip is from one of the ramparts where I was walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.