If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Waterhead, Ambleside

I had an evening meeting in the south of the county at Newby Bridge.  I could go the quick way by the M6 or the "scenic route" through the lakes.  With blip in mind I set off 2 hours early and took the scenic route.

The first stop was St john's in the vale ,where I soon spotted why the road had been closed for a while (see extra) the recent storms had washed tonnes of rock down and across the road.  From there I headed to Ambleside stopping  on a car park for views of Thirlmere.  I also noticed in passing that the route round the back of the lake appears to  have been opened, 4½ years after Storm Desmond.

The next stop was Waterhead just south of Ambleside where this shot was taken.  It was noticeable that the current health concerns were having an effect.  Car parks had lots of spaces (even the free one) and one of the "tour boats arrived from its last trip of the day and seemed almost empty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.