One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Perplexion mark

This exclamation mark in Subway's demise notice has left me perplexed for a few weeks now.
Each time I walk past this former supplier of shite sandwiches, I cannot help but try and understand what was going on inside the mind of the notifier.

He/she was not sorry.
There is nothing apologetic about that exclamation mark.
Closed businesses are unfortunately legion around here and I have a fairly good idea of what such notices look like.
There is usually a line of apology for the customers who supported the business over the years, but unfortunately.... etc.

I am not sure if that exclamation mark is one of defiance.
Could it be the last character typed by a now redundant assistant manager, who is both relieved and pissed off not to assist the management of a shite sandwiches shop any longer?
A sort of "there-you-go-all-ye-pains-in-the-arses-this-no-longer-my-responsibility-go-and-buy-your-shite-sandwiches-elsewhere" exclamation mark.
And by the look of things he/she then proceeded to urinate on the shop window, from the inside, just to really make a point.

Or else it is purely sensationalist.
It should have been preceded by "WOW!"
As in, "jayzus, you'll never believe that folks, you know Subway? Yes, that pillar of the community, that provider of shite sandwiches for as long as I can recall, this institution in Dun Laoghaire, well, you are never going to believe this, are you sitting down? SUBWAY is CLOSED!!!! OH - MY - GAWD!"

I really can't decide which it is.
What persuaded the anonymous notifier to add this exclamation mark...

All I know is that I would have underlined the word "closed".
And I would have urinated on the street side of the window too, for the sake of symmetry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.