Ten Years Blipping

I’ve now been blipping once a day for a sixth of my life!  Who'd have thought it would have developed so far after my dear old Orkney-friend, Alex Rigg, with whom I’d just completed an Open University creative writing course, suggested that we continue our creative pursuits in this different medium.  Alex lasted only 72 fantastic blips as he had his hands full with becoming one of Scotland’s leading performance artists – don’t miss Oceanallover!
 
It’s been quite a journey – my first blip was taken in Palma de Mallorca with the first anniversary in Rio de Janeiro and then subsequent ones in Sao Paulo, Edinburgh, Sitges, Barcelona, Barcelona, Cairo, Barcelona and Cairo, again, respectively.   Lady Findhorn pressed the button to publish the Edinburgh third anniversary one!   My Egyptian blips were the genesis of my book on Egypt – I owe an eternal debt of gratitude to Kendallishere who first highlighted that my writing had more fire when I was in Cairo and who, also, gave me encouraging feedback on the first manuscript.  The tenth anniversary shot – bottom right of frame – shows my reflection today in the window of a favourite local restaurant, La Perla, which is closed, like the rest of Barcelona, for at least two weeks during a state of emergency imposed as a result of the corona virus pandemic.  Everyone has been requested to stay at home twenty-four hours a day – we were only justified in going outside today as our destination was the local pharmacy and bread shop.  Let’s hope everything resolves itself quickly in the coming months.
 
On a happier note, blipping and you - especially my wonderful, dear regulars – are part of my life!   There’s no escaping it and no desire to do so.  Thank you for all the special moments we’ve shared, virtually or otherwise, during all these years.  And a special thank you to my best blipping soulmate, Dd!  
 
Ever onwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.