Scarecrow

Back to the usual here - cold and wet. What a change after such a lovely day yesterday! Did get out for a while give some houseplants a soak and wash down, and potted up a few of these strange tubers. I was going to make it a 'Guess what this is' Blip until I realised that I gave the game away yesterday!

It's a tuber of Oxalis tuberosa, known as Oca, pronounced O-ca rather than Occa, for those who don't know it. I was given a small plant last year and it produced half a dozen or so small tubers, though apparently they grow up to 4" long - mine are red. I'd put them in  a bag on the back of the door and discovered that they were already sprouting.

They were originally native to the Andes and were introduced to Britain in 1830 as a competitor to the humble spud. We all know who won! I've never tried one, but I hope that next year I'll have enough to spare a few to sample. I'll probably grow them in the Glen Lonan tunnel where I have a veggie bed, but they're pretty hardy, coming from fairly high up.

I see that I forgot my Quote of the Day yesterday. I'll have to Back-quote!. Meanwhile - 

Quote of the day:  

Samuel Johnson, “I would rather be attacked than unnoticed. For the worst thing you can do to an author is to be silent as to his works.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.