La vida de Annie

By Annie

Medidas de emergencia.

Emergency measures have been declared in Spain. From Monday morning we are in a lockdown situation, only allowed out of your home for supplies or extenuating circumstances. Anyone out walking or driving can be stopped by police and asked where they are going and why. The police will also be present at supermarkets to ensure people are behaving in an orderly manner and not making unreasonably large purchases. There are no UK flights into the island which is a good thing as travellers could bring the bug with them. This all seems eminently sensible policy to me and I think the government are doing the best they can to contain the spread of the virus, certainly more than the British shambles of a government anyway. Dogs may be walked as long as kept away from other dogwalkers, so that's OK. I haven't left the house at all today, mainly because I'm still editing the darn photos from the villa shoot last Sunday, but social media images from the capital town show deserted streets, locked shops and bars, and orderly queues outside a pharmacy and tobacconist, with people standing a good meter apart. I have got reasonable provisions for the 15 day lockdown, although will have to get fresh bread and meat next week, but have already exhausted the emergency rations of chocolate biscuits.
Today's image shows my feeling of calm. There's nothing I can do, nothing I urgently need to do, and the authorities seem to be looking after people. Wish it were the same everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.