DOWN BY THE RIVER

No footie today so I thought I would be at a loose end ... but Neil was off work and he messaged asking if I wanted to meet up.  So I got the bus to his house and we headed for the river Tyne.  ( He lives very close ).  First of all we went to The Staiths Cafe.  I just had a coffee - Neil had a panini.  Then I took my blip shot.  The Dunston Staiths are in the background.  The photo Neil took of me is my Extra.

The wooden coal staiths first opened in 1893 as a structure for loading coal from the North Durham coalfield onto ships.  They were in use until 1970's.  They were restored and opened to the public as part of the Gateshead Garden Festival in 1990. They have suffered from fire damage over the years but have been renovated using Lottery Funds.  They are open on special occasions and sometimes they hold Food Markets there.

Then we walked along by the river as far as The Sage, Gateshead and then across the river using the Millennium Bridge.  Then Neil headed off to retrace his steps and go home.  I set off to walk up into the centre of town.  Popped into Waitrose and Poundland. Then home for my tea.

So after thinking I would have a quiet day at home I had a lovely time outdoors.  The weather was dry, bright .... and the best thing was NO WIND.  Finally a nice calm day.

Musical link DOWN BY THE RIVER - by Crosy, Stills, Nash and Young.

Neil did a ParkRun this morning at The Rising Sun Country Park, Benton and tomorrow he is off to Thirsk for a 10 mile run - his running club have hired a coach to take them all down.  He's glad that at least some running events are going ahead as usual.

Steps today - 14,104

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.