Diversions

So we are trying to come to terms with the fact that when they say high risk people, like grandparents, they mean us. We are wondering whether we should make Sunday dinner. We are worried about coming into contact with people who have recently been on airplanes, or people who have been near those people. Is our traveling granddaughter, a young healthy person, a risk to us as a carrier? Some people say if you’ve been traveling, you should isolate for two weeks. Some say you should isolate whether you've been traveling or not.

We are trying not to make ourselves any crazier than we already are, which really seems to be subject to the time of day, the weather, or what we’ve had to eat. I've been out. I went to Costco to pick up a prescription. We went to Whole Foods yesterday to get some groceries. My knitting group met here yesterday for two hours. I washed my hands a lot. I don’t have much in the way of hand sanitizer or wipes; these are not things I would normally ever use so they are off my radar and now it’s too late. It’s too late! I am in a high risk group and it’s too late!! Although we do own soap. And they havent turned off the water. 

We do not watch television, and I dont listen to the radio, but I’ve still absorbed some of the desperation. It’s just in the air. We do get the little local daily paper, so there are dramatic headlines to go with coffee. Panics and closures and binge shopping and facts that change daily. The best news is that our farmers’ markets have just gotten permission to stay open! That’s a huge morale boost, not to mention a lifeline to local farmers and a good source of healthy food. 


We worked in the garden all morning, which had double rewards—occupying the mind and finishing a project: in this case getting a quick cover crop into the big vegetable bed before the predicted light rain. It will all be turned over in May to make room for tomatoes, and hopefully the favas will enrich the soil in the interim. Life is trying to go on.


The image is of the shawl I'm working on. It goes well with the Manhattan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.