Stockpiling!

What to do when in social distancing mode? Today - batch cooking!

I am stockpiling my freezer with some frozen meals. Today was chilli. Actually, I already had everything on hand but the peppers. The meat was in the freezer and I had the tins of tomatoes and beans. It just took defrosting, assembling and cooking.

I ‘attended’ church again by webcast this morning. I’ve been noticing from other people’s Facebook posts that many churches are starting to live stream now as a way to include church members who can’t get to services while they’re self-isolating. Some churches are not able to open at all but are maybe doing some kind of service by webcast. I’m so grateful that my church has been doing this for awhile now. It’s great for me for when I’m not feeling well or am travelling. I actually did feel well enough to go today but I’m still occasionally coughing and sneezing and I didn’t want to scare anyone!

I did nip to Waitrose a little later. I only had a few things to pick up (the peppers!) but mostly I was curious what it would be like after not being in a supermarket for the last couple of weeks. It was busy but not crazy and they were well stocked with everything except for toilet paper, paper towels, soap and some cleaning products. I didn’t need any of that desperately, but I hope people stop the silly hoarding because in another 2-3 weeks I WILL need some of those items! I got an email from Sainsbury’s this morning with the same message we’ve been hearing on the news - there’s NO need to hoard - they have enough for everyone.

I have another week off work for my vacation, but to be honest I have no idea what my work schedule will be like after that if anything. Our Denver service will cease after tomorrow’s flight and that’s where I was supposed to go later in the month. By the end of the week we will be running a very reduced service for all the rest of our flights to the US. I’ve heard we’re going down from 18 flights a day to just 3. Everything is evolving very quickly so I’m just taking it one day at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.