13/40

My decluttering project continues. (See my blip here for an explanation).

I am behind a bit. Partly because I’ve not been well (I don’t think it’s been CV - different symptoms!), and partly because I’ve been watching way too much news!  I did some work on it today, though. I’m making a list as I go so I know for sure that I reach my goal of 40 bags or boxes during my Lent decluttering challenge. Today is the 17th day of Lent and I have done 13 bags/boxes. These are the latest ones, but I still need to do some catch up!

Some items get thrown into my normal rubbish (like a bag of out of date food a few days ago), some gets taken to the tip (like old broken electric appliances), some gets donated to the charity shop although I always let my cleaning lady take what she needs first! 

I also use Freegle (like Freecycle) to get rid of other items which maybe the charity shop wouldn’t take but are totally useable. Freegle is also good for heavy things that I don’t want to lift in and out of my car. I’ve had three Freegle pickups this week, including the plant pots in the picture. The lady was very excited to use them for some planting. She also took all my barbecue equipment and utensils.

I am wondering if charity shops will stop taking donations for awhile, either for health issues or because of lack of manpower (and lack of shoppers). I’m sure a lot of us will use this time of full or partial isolation to do some decluttering. And yet with economically hard times upon us, many will probably turn to charity shops. I know I have at times when finances were tight. I hope the Freeglers won’t stop Freegling!

My challenge is a fund-raising event for my favourite charity - Yeldall Manor - so please feel free to make a donation or sponsorship!  
Please click here for the link to my JustGiving page. Come on, blippers (and Facebook readers!). I know you’re a generous bunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.