Grandpa and DH5 fighter

This is my grandfather again, standing next to a DH5 fighter, probably at RAF Newmarket in 1918.  The DH5 is distinctive in that the upper wing is staggered rearward compared with the lower ("negative stagger", according to Wikipedia).

I don't know if Grandpa flew this particular model, but things were far more lax in those days with regard to what might be called type rating now – few pilots maintain flying currency in more than one type these days.  The closest that I ever got to multiple currency was when I was on the weapons training course at RAF Brawdy, near Haverfordwest in the late 70s: we all flew at least four different types of Hunter.

Note the huge gloves that he's wearing; I know that it would have been cold in the open cockpit, but it must have been quite difficult to fly with such things on your hands.  I suppose those aircraft had very few small controls such as switches.  I note also that Grandpa appears to be smoking . . .

The extra is also of my grandfather.  He's not here to defend himself, but I don't think that he'd mind my muttering about inappropriate behaviour for an officer in uniform (;-)).  He would have been about 24 years old at this stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.