Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Reasons to be cheerful

Today I stole myself a couple of hours in glorious sunshine for a walk in the hills with my camera.  I blipped this mallard where the river flows along Water Lane (sandbags still in place there) and then climbed up the very steep hill to the butterfly reserve.  I counted 8 brimstones and three rather mangy peacock butterflies (see Extra).  Also a kestrel, a great number of larks (what's the collective noun for them - an ecstacy?  JudyD, below, says an exultation - I'm taking it she's right - thanks, Judy), a redstart, the sheep who came galloping towards me in the mistaken belief I might have food, and a wonderfully handsome roebuck.  I've never seen deer up there before so this made me very happy.  However, no chance of stalking on that wide hillside, so no shots.

And I forgot to mention, the first night J stayed here (last Thursday?) I saw a fox out of my bedroom window.  It was dark and he'd come to vacuum up the remains of the peanuts I'd put out for the squirrels - a large good-looking chap, no scruffy urbanite.

And that's about it for me.  Hope your day's been good.  Keep well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.