Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Chronicles of Corona

Social Distancing

In my swimming group is a lady with ‘dodgy knees’. One of us usually leads her by hand into the sea. Then she dips and she is grand on her own.

We forgot to socially distance this morning (she and I) and only realised we were holding hands as we negotiated the waves and had our swim.

Well another lady gave us the hand gel so that was grand.

Then another lady has a huge thermos flask and gives us all a wee dram of strong coffee. Ooops we had to all do the gel thing again.

I copped myself on and refused a pastry from another (pastries taste exquisite after a cold swim - outside temp 2 degrees) and we didn’t hug each other as we do everyday.

What’s the opposite of social distancing? Maybe social closeness, social nearness, social intimacy .... they all sound much more human to my mind.

My son was due to fly to Finland today and travelled over from the West of Ireland late last night. Because my mammy (his nana who will be 96 next month and just recovered from chest infection) was staying here, he wouldn’t even come into the house. He slept on a camp bed in his father’s draughty tool shed and temperatures were very low last night. So he didn’t get to see or chat to his nana and I didn’t give him a hug even. I was very upset by this. As it turned out his job in Finland is postponed til mid April. And you will be glad to hear I brought him over a big bowl of porridge with natural yogurt and chopped banana on top. Then a coffee and one of my buttermilk pancakes (irish breakfasts the best).

So when the Chronicles of Corona blow over (and they surely will), I am having no more of this social distancing mullarkey - no siree

And yet another Bray Beach Blip

I just never tire of that view - it’s wonderful - taken at about 7.30am today. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.