pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

WFH

Working from home is a curious beast.

When I first moved to the Norf from darn sarf, it was only possible because I’d convinced my employers to let me work from home and effectively operate as a Northern satellite office. I was relatively inexperienced at that point, so I was absolutely amazed that they went for it.

I lasted about 12 months. The initial energy, vigour and drive of trying to build something new from scratch, quickly gave way to loneliness, apathy and “everyone watches a film on a Friday afternoon, don’t they?” From around 2005 onwards, I have since been an office based sales executive and enjoyed the balance between office life and being out on the road meeting people.

In the current climate where a virus has taken a stranglehold on pretty much every aspect of human existence, I am one of many people currently working from home until further notice to avoid contagion or spread thereof and whilst it’s not without its upsides, namely; perfect brew every time, not having to share biccies/snacks, radio on for company etc. There are a few downsides too, no one to chat to whilst you make a brew, no banter/mutual verbal abuse (which is what I thrive on), the radio spews out endless bulletins of misery and so forth.

Fortunately, I am very busy at present, so don’t have too much time to dwell on these things at present and crucially, I can also take a break when I need to. Whilst it was with some reluctance to pull myself away from a roaring fire, I did so and scooped up my “proper” camera before heading off on a short walk by the river. It is only when you leave your house that the juxtaposition of news/reality hits you and you see that the world is still spinning, people are going about their every day lives and it actually isn’t the end of days just yet.

On an entirely unrelated note, the stroll out did afford me the opportunity to grab this photo of Kendal Parish Church from a fresh angle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.