Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Isolation

My long-running cold/flu symptoms were joined by a high temperature overnight, meaning that I've reached the NHS threshold for self-isolation. So that's what I'm doing for the next seven days. And it's the right thing to do.

I'm still more or less functional so I'm working at home, not off sick. At the moment, with the sort of work I do, that's possible and not too disruptive.

The kids had been with me at the weekend, but were back at their Mum's by the time my temperature developed. Our feeling is that they should self-isolate too, although as they're no longer at my house, and weren't when my temperature developed, the decision is perhaps a bit more nuanced. And advice is evolving so rapidly - as of this evening if the kids and their Mum self-isolate they'd have to do so for 14 days. Whereas I'm back in lone-householder mode, so assuming my symptoms don't develop I'm still free to go back out into the world after a week.

It seems this is just an advance preview of the significant adjustments to lifestyle that will be required over the next many months.

For the moment I have provisions and meds and communication, and I'll be fine. I suspect the hardest part for me will be not being able to go out for a walk. I have a very modest front garden which opens straight to the street, and I'm mid-terrace so have neighbours close to each side, so I should probably not even sit out there.  At the top of the house I have a velux I can stick my head out of, so I did that a little bit today to feel the sun on my face.

Views from the skylight are likely to be my main source of blips for the next week. And in looking at the sky I can be mentally lifted from confinement for a moment or two.

Take care everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.