Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Buzzard #33

What a day. We spent a couple of hours shopping late morning and I was shocked at the empty shelves this time. I’ve obviously heard about the panic buying and the last time I went shopping mid of last week, it was OK apart from the toilet rolls, but this time there were lots of areas of missing stock Pasta, tinned goods, meat, cleaning products, soap, soft drinks etc. I just wasn’t prepared for it. We didn’t buy a ton of stuff but after this evening’s announcement, I kind of wished we had. 

After a late lunch I headed out to Pickerings Pasture for the last couple of hours of light on my own. Not as successful as I’d hoped, but I did see 27 species including my first Mistle thrush of the year and this lovely common buzzard as I got back to the car. 

I got home to the news that we are all now supposed to avoid all “non-essential” social contact from now on and those in the high risk bracket(both my parents) will be asked to stay at home for the next 12 weeks from the weekend.  So, apart from dropping off supplies to them, I don’t expect to be spending any time with Mum and Dad (or anyone really) for a very long time. 

It’s going to be a long old year isn’t it, but we’d rather be safe than sorry. If either one of my parents gets COVID-19, I don’t think they will survive 

Stay safe everyone and don’t take risks - it’s just not worth it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.