Rodents rule

By squirk

Strange days

The day began with a dance in the kitchen when Lauren Laverne played Boy with the Arab Strap – a request from a lady in self-isolation (it does mention isolation in the song).

In the office, we were preparing to work at home as a test tomorrow. However, after Boris's speech, we were doing it for real. Goodbye office for the however long this takes. We were second-guessing what we'd need from our desks. As a publishing house, books are needed as reference but there's only so much we can carry. Ah well. We're planning virtual tea rounds and video chats. I work from home freelance two days a week so it's not much of a change for me, but it's a massive change for those who work just in the office. 

It became quite clear that the technology at home for most isn't suitable so the company is going to courier all our work machines to our homes. Now we're all trying to figure out where on earth we're going to put them. I mentioned to Fred that security is an issue, but he pointed out that I'm at home anyway. Good point. All the theatre shows and author talks I've booked have all cancelled so there's no going out. I'm thankful that I have a garden to escape to.

Stay healthy, folks, and I don't just mean about the coronavirus. This stuff is messing with our heads in all sorts of ways. Keep looking for the positives (for me, the nature in the garden, the folks on the virtual tea rounds, and whatever tunes make me dance around the kitchen, and Fred and Juno, of course). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.