Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Croy

One of my friends is doing a Masters degree in the industrial landscape of mining. Among other things, this involves exploring and cataloguing the sites of former mines and how the landscape looks now, years after the mines have closed.

She had seen photos I had posted on Flickr and, as she didn't know the exact location of this former ironstone mine, asked me to show her where the photos had been taken.

We met at Auchinstarry Marina on Monday morning, walked into the Nethercroy woods and then I let her do whatever industrial archivists do.
Afterwards she treated me (on expenses of course!) to coffee and a large slice of chocolate cheesecake in a local garden centre. Yummy!

On my way home I drove through Croy (along the road where I had my car accident two weeks ago, and the first time since then) and stopped to photograph the newly-erected miners' memorial. Today's Blip, then, is what I had intended to Blip on Sunday 1st March. Better late than never!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.