Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Daffs

Attended the funeral of my next door neighbour's mother on Tuesday. As well as being a sad occasion, it was also a surreal one in light of all the current advice about 'social distancing'. Funerals by their very nature are about coming together, they are shared experiences, people drawing strength and comfort from one another.

As only a neighbour, rather than a member or close friend of the family, I was exempt from most of the close proximity stuff, but it was odd to watch and wonder how we'll cope when hugs and handshakes are considered no longer wise or acceptable (or legal?) Humans are a social species, even though some of us enjoy a bit of isolation and 'space' from time to time.

No such considerations for these daffodils, which I photographed on my neighbours' steps on returning home. Sometimes I think too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.