Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Anyone got a spoon?

My first roseate spoonbill!!! I actually saw several today and none of them were well positioned for photos, even with Big Daddy. This one was at Sand Key Park, the same place I got yesterday's blip, and when I first saw it, it was sleeping with 5 white ibis - kind of doing an incognito thing. Not that big pink birds are all that good at incognito. Eventually, it woke up and spent a little time flailing around on a limb, which is when I snapped this. Not a great shot, but I loved that you could see his bill and the gorgeous pink wings. I'll take it!!

Also seen today...anhinga (scared the crap out of me at first - thought it was a water snake!), a cormorant eating a big fish, several different kinds of terns, some huge turtles, osprey eating a fish, two snowy egrets fighting over a fish, boat-tailed grackle, fish crows eating dates, and several shore birds that I still need to id. And of course, egrets and herons and pelicans. Another fun day.

We also had a nice long walk on a nearly deserted beach - bliss!

Thanks for all the comments and stars on yesterday's heron! That was a bird I will never see in NJ so very exciting to get such a close up shot!

Today's shot is cropped, taken at 500mm with a monopod. But, hey, it's my first spoonbill!!!

Xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.