Harry Dresden to the Rescue!

A thing I don't talk about nearly as much as I could or should is the fact that I am a voracious reader. I always have a book going; often, more than one. I love to read and I am a fast reader. I can easily lose myself in a book. Over this past weekend, I finished about a book a day.

My big sister Barb who is in Heaven now was also a great fan of books. She was known to stay up all night reading. Her favorites included Stephen King and all kinds of other horror and mystery and adventure tales. She also collected cookbooks.

When my sister died last year, I ended up with a bunch of her books. I remember having a conversation with her, on one of my visits, about favorite authors, including Jim Butcher, who wrote the Dresden Files series. Guess what I found on her living room floor when we cleared out her house: a whole STACK of Dresden books!

According to Jim Butcher's website (go here for a list of the complete set of books), "the Dresden Files are Jim’s first published series, telling the story of Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden, Chicago’s first (and only) Wizard P.I."

The stories are full of magic, mystery, and adventure, and include fantastic creatures and beings. A favorite tale is the one where Harry Dresden rides around Chicago on a re-animated T. Rex named Sue (you can read about that in the book Dead Beat). Just outstanding!

So anyway, now that we are social distancing, and lots of stuff is closed, I anticipate that I will be reading more than ever. What could I do to make this a treat for me? I went to the basement and grabbed the stack of Dresden books, which you may see above.

The top three books (which are quite fat) are actually compilations of his works; each includes two or three of his books. The bottom three are just one book each. In looking at the list of Dresden files in toto, I realize that I now own 10 of the first 12 books in the series. Let the reading commence!

There are two songs for this posting. One is for my hero, Harry Dresden, slayer of evil creatures, defender of the good, and rider of a T. Rex named Sue: Fontella Bass, with Rescue Me. The second is for my big sister Barb, whom I love and miss, and who is still looking out for me from Heaven: THANK YOU for these books! The song is Led Zeppelin, with Thank You, one of my all-time favorite songs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.