Social Distancing

I was umming and ahing about whether I should take mrsfb's car in for a service today. In the end I did, on the basis that it was due, and might not be possible in the near future. I thought I would go for a breakfast in McDonald's if it didn't look too busy, but then found it was only open for takeaway orders. The M&S cafe nearby was fine, there was only one other customer there when I arrived. The staff were washing their hands after serving each customer, which was good to see. The waitress cleared my things away and said I could stay as long as I liked, as long as I didn't start coughing! A few more old fogies started drifting in though, so I decided to walk into Cheltenham, as I needed to pay a cheque into the bank for the FIL anyway. I asked in Boots if they had any thermometers, and of course the answer was no, with a 'you must be joking' look. The car was going to take some time so I had some lunch in a café which we often go to, which is usually busy but again was pretty empty, so easy to distance oneself. McDonald's in town was also takeaway only, though Burger King was fully open and looked busy.

It then started to rain quite heavily so I caught the bus back to the garage. Only 5 passengers, including me, which was good.

In other, related news, daughter#2 is not allowed to leave the house in France, apart from going to shop in the nearest place, which they have to drive to. I'm sure something similar is coming our way too :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.